Uncategorized

Holding onto Hope

Dear Dad,

There are so many days when it doesn’t seem to get easier. I miss you

It seems to get harder … lonelier.

I just want to share one more laugh with you, have one more hug from you, listen to one more song with you.

Every new person that I meet I find myself thinking of how I’d love to be able to introduce them to you. You loved meeting new people. You loved hearing their stories, and getting to know them.

I wonder if where you are now is as completely perfect as you always spoke of it being. You believed in a new heaven and a new earth – a lasting home that would never pass away. A place without sickness, without pain, without sadness or heartache. I always picture you there -In that perfect place where you have been perfected. Not perfected the way we desperately try to achieve perfection in this life, but perfect the way that our loving Father designed us in the beginning ; perfectly created in the image of God. I believe I will see you again one day.

Still, living in this world without you never gets easier. This emptiness cannot be filled. Maybe it isn’t meant to be. Maybe it is a longing for that place beyond this broken world. That place where you are now knows no sorrow, no hatred, no wars or violence, no tears, no death! I tend to think of how much I want just a little more time with you. Almost like I could wish you back to me, to us. To hear your voice again and see your smile.

Some people think it is selfish to wish anyone back to this broken world and I guess it is. I look forward to the day when I get to walk with you, when our feet touch the grass of a new perfected earth. When our prayers to God are no longer desperate pleas for understanding all the heartbreak of this world. Instead they are conversations with our Creator and one another when everything is revealed and we finally see with perfected vision, and understand all that makes no sense to us now.

And until then I will miss you more than words can express and I will hold onto the hope that I will see you again in a better place.

Leave a comment