Uncategorized

Missing You Dad

Dear Dad,

I miss you. I feel lost without you here. One year since your passing is coming up at the end of this month.

Summer will never be the same again. Nothing will ever be the same again.

I want to hear your laughter, to see your whole face light up when you smile.

I want to hear you sing along to Don McLean’s American Pie.

To see those tears form in your sweet eyes when you hear Rich Mullins or listen to Cory Asbury’s Reckless Love for the hundredth time.

my god, you were so full of life and I miss your warmth.

I would give anything to feel you wrap me in one of your healing hugs. I miss your arms – where I knew I could safely fall apart when life just got too hard.

I want to laugh at your corny jokes that really aren’t very funny, and to watch you laugh the hardest when Mom doesn’t get the joke.

I miss your silliness.

I miss your smile.

I miss your voice.

I miss your freckles.

I miss those laugh lines around your eyes and how you looked the happiest when you were with your grandchildren.

I miss your heart, your kindness.

I miss your sensitivity, and how you noticed all the little things.

How you made others feel known and loved and seen as they truly were.

How you could speak courage into an anxious soul like mine.

I miss your joy.

Our world lost so much when we lost you.

Leave a comment